Skip to content

Stewards of the path

September 23, 2012

After 6 weeks of posting about changing paths, I finally realize that the first step in preparation for any new path is embracing the path I’m currently walking. The changes that I can control are primarily in my attitude, my outlook, my understanding and my acceptance of the Holy Spirit.

The focus of my devotional this week has been to acknowledge God’s call to ministry, and to receive the Holy Spirit, so that I may be “a wise steward of the precious gifts” bestowed on me.

Here are some key points of scripture:

Solomon’s prayer for wisdom, “Give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong.”

James describes heavenly wisdom as, “pure, peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere.”

Paul reminds us that we, the church, are the path to God’s wisdom. As servants of God, we must endure “troubles, hardships and distresses, beatings, imprisonment, hard work, sleepless nights and hunger.” We must exemplify Christ’s teachings in “purity, understanding, patience, kindness; in the Holy Spirit and in sincere love; in truthful speech and in the power of God; with weapons of righteousness; through glory and dishonor, bad reports and good reports; beaten and yet not killed; sorrowful yet always rejoicing; having nothing, and yet possessing everything.”

To be an apostle of Christ, “it is required that those who have been given a trust must prove faithful.” This is stewardship – taking care of that which belongs to another. Our responsibilities, as italicized above, read like marriage vows. We’re in it for the long haul, in sickness and in health, for better or for worse. Hard times are not justification for giving up.

In a nutshell, God’s equipped me for the path I’m on, and he’s called me to this journey of faith. I am here, compelled to step forward day by day, bearing the fruits of the Spirit and sharing the blessings of God’s kingdom, always seeking to leave a legacy that reflects God’s loving grace.

LORD, let me not be fettered by my circumstances, but let me reflect your glory. Help me rejoice in the journey, despite the hardships. Amen

Leave a Reply

