Skip to content

Changing Paths: Part 6

September 16, 2012

Have you ever studied a problem for so long and so hard that your head hurt? And, just about the time you are ready to give up, an answer comes to you with such clarity you’re humbled that it took you so long. In such a situation, you might be reminded that humility is ours when we’re walking a path with God the Father, Son and Holy Spirit as our guide.

I consider it a blessing to be reminded that I cannot (and should not) try to “go it alone.” I am also blessed by the legacy created in scripture, and the power of God’s word. By searching through our history, I rest assured that saints and prophets who’ve gone before me have experienced the same frustrations and feelings of failure.

God told Ezekiel, if wicked people are warned, and they turn from their evil ways, they will be saved. If righteous people bank on salvation, and assume any forays into wickedness will be forgiven, they are due a rude awakening. Jonah overcame his fears for his personal safety and bore the unpleasant message of doom to the people of Ninevah, but he was angry when their repentance led to their salvation.

If you read this post, you’ll gather more insight into my personal situation and my efforts to discern God’s will. And perhaps even into my ongoing musings about change. I’m finding peace in the knowledge that it’s not all about me and it’s not all up to me. God is the ultimate judge of righteousness; I am just a messenger.

Father, thank you for helping me change my perspective, for changing my heart and for walking with me on this journey. Thank you for the faithful who travel with me. Thank you for bringing me insight, and this brief moment of clarity in your light. Amen.

2 Comments
  1. Bernie Davies permalink

    Something which continues to amaze me after having been a Christian for more than a few years is when the Holy Spirit reveals new truth and I go “WOW, I never realized or thought of that”. For so long it was all about knowing Jesus as Lord and Savior. “Have you received Jesus as Lord”? Yes, this is foundational truth and unchanging. Then the light shines on Matthew 5, 6, and 7 and the truth that Jesus also taught us and showed us how we should live; that truth doesn’t always fit the conservative Christian model. But, when we know the truth it sets us free and changes our direction. Blessings.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The righteous, the wicked and the watchman | FGHart

Leave a comment