Skip to content

Take up your cross

July 1, 2023

Christ says, “Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me.” Matthew 10:38

I’ve been wondering about this.

What is my cross? Where is my cross? How do I take up my cross?

I aspire to be worthy of Christ.

Discipleship is a big commitment, even unto death, sacrificing selfish ambitions, seeking life in God’s kingdom, willing to suffer the ultimate price for our Lord’s sake.

Each day is a new opportunity.

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. Matthew 16:24Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. Mark 8:34Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me. Luke 9:23
1) Deny myself. 2) Take up my cross. 3) Follow Jesus.

Jesus challenge us to convict ourselves and to sentence our egos to death so we are free to follow him.

Simon of Cyrene was called to serve, to carry the cross on behalf of Christ. Matthew 27:32, Mark 15:21, Luke 23:26

We are similarly called to serve. We are to fulfill the work of Christ, sacrificing for Christ just as Christ gave his life for us.

My desire to live as a disciple becomes reality through the taking up of my own cross, resisting temptation, repenting when I succumb to anything that separates me from God, living each day in full obedience to God’s will.

Christ denied himself for me; I must give myself wholly, bearing the cross of Christ for redemption and salvation.

“For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel’s will save it.” Mark 8:35“Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” Matthew 10:39
It’s personal.

“… I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.” Acts 20:24

We each have tasks. We are blessed with gifts that enable us. We are needed for service in God’s kingdom. This service requires our small selves to get out of the way so the greater self of the Holy Spirit can fulfill God’s calling.

I am reminding myself of this as I make a daily commitment of obedience, letting go and letting the Spirit lead me. It’s to be a lifelong effort, until the final trumpet calls. These days, it’s what brings me here.

Father, teach me to walk in your ways. Prune away all that chokes and entangles. Help me hear and heed your call to tasks I’ve not chosen, for which I’m not qualified. May your grace abound. Amen.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment